Who's Who

President and Vice-Presidents

The President of the Society is Sir Mervyn Medlycott.

Currently there are four Vice-Presidents: Colin Dean, Terry Farmer, David Hawkings and John Howick.

Officers and Executive Committee (EC)

The day to day running of the Society is overseen by two groups of Members, the Officers and the Executive Committee. The Somerset and Dorset Family History Society is run entirely by its Members, working on a purely voluntary basis in their spare time. The Society does not have any paid personnel.

The Officers currently consist of the Chairman (Ann-Marie Wilkinson), the Secretary (Ted Udall), the Treasurer (Rose Figgins), and a Vice-Chair for each county: Jennie McGowan is the Vice-Chairman for Dorset. The Somerset post is currently vacant.

The Executive Committee currently comprises the Officers, Representatives appointed annually by each of the regional Groups of the Society, the Family History Centre Manager, Health and Safety Officer, Webmaster and Editor, as follows:

Mid Somerset - Peter Welch

Taunton - David Brown

Yeovil - Ted Udall

Blackmore Vale - Jacqui Wragg

East Dorset - John Tanner

South Dorset - Jennie McGowan

West Dorset - Sylvia Creed-Castle

West Somerset - Jane Sharp

Family History Centre Representative and Health and Safety Officer - John Brooking

Webmaster - Patricia Spencer

Editor of The Greenwood Tree - Bob Barber

As the Society is a Registered Charity, the Executive Committee members are Trustees, and are bound by the laws relating to Charities.

The EC establishes and manages the policy of the SDFHS; reviews the performance of the Society and plans its future growth and activities; receives reports from the functional committees and approves their activities; manages the finances of the Society.